Crypto exchanges in Japan
Of the 5 exchanges we list, 3 state whether they serve Japan: 1 lists it as available and 2 as restricted. 2 do not state it on the page we read.
Availability in Japan
| Exchange | Status | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
| Binance | Not verified This page does not state it. Not on the prohibited list (updated 27 Feb 2024); named in a disclaimer that the site is not aimed at residents of several countries. The iPhone app guide (18 Aug 2026) lists Japan as Available for the App only; not counted. | binance.com · checked |
| Crypto.com | Listed as available Listed in 'Where is Crypto.com Web available?' (page dated 20 May 2025). That article covers Crypto.com Web, not the App. | help.crypto.com · checked |
| Gemini | Not verified This page does not state it. Japan is not named on the areas-of-availability page. The page names no prohibited list, so not listing is not treated as a restriction. | gemini.com · checked |
| Kraken | Listed as restricted Translated from the official German page (updated 30 Sep 2026). Japan is on the 'Prohibited regions' list: Kraken does no business with customers from these regions and accepts no cash or crypto deposits from them. | support.kraken.com · checked |
| OKX | Listed as restricted Japan is named among the "Restricted Locations" in the Risk & Compliance Disclosure (8 Jul 2026). The older app-availability list (05/22/2025) still shows Japan; the newer disclosure is used. | okx.com · checked |
"Listed as available" repeats what each exchange publishes; it is not legal advice. Rules can differ by state or region. See every country in the availability grid.
Cheapest stated way to buy $1,000 of BTC by bank transfer
We cannot name the cheapest for Japan: fewer than two exchanges state both a deposit fee and a trading fee for this route in the Global fee region.
- Binance: missing deposit fee, so not ranked.
- Bitstamp: missing deposit fee, trading fee, so not ranked.
- Bybit: missing deposit fee, trading fee, so not ranked.
- Coinbase: no global fee figures, so not ranked.
- Crypto.com: no global fee figures, so not ranked.
- Gemini: no global fee figures, so not ranked.
0 of the 8 exchanges in the calculator state both a deposit fee and a trading fee for this route in the Global fee region. Fees shown are for the Global fee region. Stated fees only; they change, so check the exchange's own page before you buy.
Local notes for Japan
Kraken: Japan is on Kraken's 'Prohibited regions' list: no business with customers from these regions and no cash or crypto deposits from them (translated from German, updated 30 Sep 2026).
Source: support.kraken.com, checked
OKX: Japan is named among OKX's Restricted Locations in its Risk & Compliance Disclosure (updated 8 July 2026).
Source: okx.com, checked
Other countries in Asia-Pacific
This page has no affiliate links. How we make money · How facts are checked