How much does it really cost to buy crypto?
Which exchange states the lowest fees for your amount, payment method and country, and what each one states.
About this tool
This tool shows what each exchange we cover states for the deposit fee, the trading fee and the spread when you buy Bitcoin or Ethereum with US dollars. It names the exchange with the lowest stated fees for your amount, payment method and country, and lists the others in order. It works from past, published figures and gives an estimate for your amount, not advice and not a forecast.
Calculate your cost
Three choices, then one row per exchange.
Costs for $1,000.00 of Bitcoin (BTC) by bank transfer in United States
Lowest stated fees, spreads not included
$5.00
For $1,000.00 of Bitcoin (BTC) by bank transfer, United States. 3 of 8 exchanges ranked, 4 not ranked, 1 not available in United States.
Coins use the daily close of 3 Nov 2026: $77,336.75 (Coinbase Exchange BTC-USD). Not a live price.
All exchanges, lowest stated fees first
Stated fees are the verified deposit fee plus the verified trading fee. A spread is added only where the exchange states one.
Deposit $0.00 · Trading $5.00 · Spread not included
Not stated, so left out: trading fee (fixed part).
United States
Source: help.crypto.com, crypto.com, checked
Fee breakdown and sources
Route modelled: spot_market_taker (Crypto.com Exchange).
- Deposit fee
- $0.00Stated rate: 0.00% + $0.00
Source · 12 Oct 2026
- help.crypto.com checked 12 Oct 2026
Minimum deposit $1; limits $1,000,000 or 5 times per day. A separate 'instant ACH deposit' article exists and was not read. A $40 admin fee may apply to returns of erroneous deposits.
As above.
- Trading fee
- Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 0.50%
Source · 12 Oct 2026
- crypto.com checked 12 Oct 2026
CRO-balance discount excluded. Page is the exchange-pro en-US version, re-read 13 Oct 2026.
Percentage only; absence not treated as zero.
- Approximate spread
- Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.
- Total fees (USD)
- At least $5.00At least, because one fee is not confirmed. The real total could be higher.Not confirmed: trading fee (fixed part), spread.
- You receive (coins)
- Up to 0.01286581 BTCUp to, because unconfirmed fees and the spread would reduce this.
Source · 3 Nov 2026
- docs.cdp.coinbase.com checked 3 Nov 2026
Reference price $77,336.75, the daily close of 3 Nov 2026. Coinbase Exchange BTC-USD.
Deposit $0.00 · Trading $8.00 · Spread not included
Not stated, so left out: trading fee (fixed part).
United States
Source: support.kraken.com, kraken.com, checked
Fee breakdown and sources
Route modelled: spot_market_taker (Kraken Pro).
- Deposit fee
- $0.00Stated rate: 0.00% + $0.00
Source · 13 Oct 2026
- support.kraken.com checked 13 Oct 2026
A footnote says deposits are available for trading immediately but carry a seven-day withdrawal hold. Your bank may charge its own fees.
Same row as deposit_pct.
- Trading fee
- Not confirmedKraken does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 0.80%
Source · 13 Oct 2026
- www.kraken.com checked 13 Oct 2026
Quote reconstructed from table cells returned by the fetch tool. Kraken also offers instant buy over Plaid ACH at 1% (see card cell); this cell uses the Pro taker route.
Percentage only; absence not treated as zero.
- Approximate spread
- Not confirmedKraken does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.
Source · 13 Oct 2026
- www.kraken.com checked 13 Oct 2026
Order-book route; Kraken publishes no spread figure.
- Total fees (USD)
- At least $8.00At least, because one fee is not confirmed. The real total could be higher.Not confirmed: trading fee (fixed part), spread.
- You receive (coins)
- Up to 0.01282701 BTCUp to, because unconfirmed fees and the spread would reduce this.
Source · 3 Nov 2026
- docs.cdp.coinbase.com checked 3 Nov 2026
Reference price $77,336.75, the daily close of 3 Nov 2026. Coinbase Exchange BTC-USD.
Deposit $0.00 · Trading $12.00 · Spread not included
Not stated, so left out: trading fee (fixed part).
United States
Source: gemini.com, checked
Fee breakdown and sources
Route modelled: spot_market_taker (ActiveTrader).
- Deposit fee
- $0.00Stated rate: 0.00% + $0.00
Source · 12 Oct 2026
- www.gemini.com checked 12 Oct 2026
Wire Transfer also 'Free' with footnote: 'Your bank may charge you a fee to wire money into your Gemini account.'
As above.
- Trading fee
- Not confirmedGemini does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 1.20%
Source · 12 Oct 2026
- www.gemini.com checked 12 Oct 2026
Table cells as returned by the fetch tool. Whether the ActiveTrader schedule applies to the same order flow as Gemini's simple Instant mode is not stated.
No minimum trading fee listed; absence not treated as zero.
- Approximate spread
- Not confirmedGemini does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.
- Total fees (USD)
- At least $12.00At least, because one fee is not confirmed. The real total could be higher.Not confirmed: trading fee (fixed part), spread.
- You receive (coins)
- Up to 0.01277529 BTCUp to, because unconfirmed fees and the spread would reduce this.
Source · 3 Nov 2026
- docs.cdp.coinbase.com checked 3 Nov 2026
Reference price $77,336.75, the daily close of 3 Nov 2026. Coinbase Exchange BTC-USD.
Not ranked
- Bitstamp Not ranked: no United States fee figures
- Bybit Not ranked: no United States fee figures
- Coinbase Not ranked: missing deposit fee, trading fee
- OKX Not ranked: missing deposit fee
Not available in United States
- Binance Not available in United States
How we calculate
Stated fees are the verified deposit fee plus the verified trading fee. A spread is added only where the exchange states one.
The order uses stated fees only: the deposit fee plus the trading fee, and the spread only where the exchange states one. An exchange with no deposit figure or no trading figure is not ranked and is listed apart with what is missing. An exchange that the data lists as restricted in your country is listed apart too. Exchanges with equal stated fees are named together.
A fee can have a percentage part and a fixed part. If an exchange states only one of them, the other is left out of the total, never counted as zero, and the row says which part is not stated. Such a row could cost more than shown.
The calculator follows the same steps for every exchange.
- The amount you enter is the total you pay. Nothing is added to it.
- The deposit fee is taken first.
- The trading fee is taken from what is left after the deposit fee.
- The coins you receive are what is left after both fees, divided by the reference price.
What the columns mean
- Deposit fee: The fee to put your dollars in by the method you chose.
- Trading fee: The fee for the purchase itself, charged on what is left after the deposit fee.
- Approximate spread: The gap between the buying and selling price. It is added to the total only when the exchange states one; today none is confirmed, so it is marked Not confirmed.
- Total fees (USD): The deposit fee and the trading fee, plus the spread when the exchange states one, in US dollars. A total marked "At least" leaves out a part that is not confirmed.
- You receive (coins): What is left after those two fees, divided by the reference price.
- Source: The exchange page the figure came from, and the date we checked it.
Stated fees, base tier, US dollars; each row names its fee region. Checked between 12 Oct 2026 and 20 Oct 2026. An estimate from past, published figures; not advice.
Common questions
Fixed examples, each with the full fee breakdown for every exchange we cover.
What the calculator includes
The costs that are in the result, and the ones that are left out.
The result adds up three things for each exchange:
- The deposit fee: what the exchange states for putting dollars in by card or bank transfer.
- The trading fee: what the exchange states for buying the coin.
- The spread: the gap between the price to buy and the price to sell. It is added to the total when the exchange states one, and marked Not confirmed when it does not.
It then works out how many coins are left. Fees that an exchange does not state are marked Not confirmed instead of being guessed.
Limits of these figures
Read these before you rely on a result.
This is an estimate based on published figures. It is not advice and not an offer.
What is not included:
- Network withdrawal fee. Sending coins from the exchange to your own wallet usually has its own fee, and it is not counted here.
- Taxes. Tax on buying, holding or selling crypto depends on where you live.
- Currency conversion. If your bank or card is not in US dollars, your provider may add a conversion cost.
- Bank and card-issuer charges. Your own bank or card provider may charge for the payment.
- Volume tiers. Exchanges often lower fees for higher trading volume. This page uses the base tier only.
- Promotions. Temporary offers are left out of every figure.
- Price moves between quote and fill. The price can change between the moment you see a quote and the moment your order is filled.
- The real spread. The spread changes all the time. The figure shown is an approximation from what the exchange states, not a live measurement.
Other limits:
- Region and account type. Each row names the fee region its figures are for, in US dollars. Whether an exchange serves your country comes from our availability data, which can be out of date.
- Reference price. The price used is a dated daily close from our price data, or the one you type. It is not a live price.
- Fee basis. The exchanges do not say whether a fee is taken from the amount you pay or added to it. The calculator assumes it is taken from it. If a fee is added to it, you would receive fewer coins than shown.
- Ranking. The order is by stated fees. Exchanges leave out different parts (most state no spread), so a lower row is not a promise that it costs less in the end.
- Card minimums. Some exchanges set a minimum card purchase, for example 10 US dollars. A result for a smaller amount may not be a purchase the exchange allows.
- Route and payment method. Card is modelled as the simple "buy" button and bank transfer as the order-book screen, so the difference mixes the route with the payment method.
- Changes over time. Exchanges change fees without notice. Check the date beside each figure.
- Not advice. This tool describes costs. It does not suggest which exchange, amount or asset suits you.
How the total is worked out
The rule is the same for every exchange.
The calculator follows the same steps for every exchange.
- The amount you enter is the total you pay. Nothing is added to it.
- The deposit fee is taken first.
- The trading fee is taken from what is left after the deposit fee.
- The coins you receive are what is left after both fees, divided by the reference price.
All figures are for the base fee tier, which is where a new account normally starts, in US dollars. The country you choose picks the fee region: United States, European Union, United Kingdom or global (global is used only for countries outside the other three). Figures are read for that region only: an exchange with no figures for it is not ranked, and we never show the figures of another region in their place. If a page was read for another country or account type, we say so next to the figure.
A spread the exchange states would be taken off the coins like a fee. Until one is confirmed it is not counted, which is why the coins are shown as "Up to" a number.
Illustrative example. The rates are made up and do not describe any real exchange.
You enter $1,000.00. A made-up deposit fee of 2% takes $20.00. A made-up trading fee of 1% is taken from the remaining amount and takes $9.80. What is left, $970.20, is divided by a made-up price of $50,000.00. You receive 0.019404 coins.
Where each number comes from
Each figure has a link to the exchange's own page and the date we checked it.
Every figure comes from the exchange's own website. Next to each one you can see the link to the page and the date we checked it. Where an exchange does not state a figure for your choice, or states it only for another country, the table says Not confirmed and gives the reason.
How we find, date and re-check exchange data is described in How we check exchange data.
Binance
Stated rates for Binance
| Payment method · Asset | Deposit fee | Trading fee | Approximate spread |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card · BTCPayment route partly confirmed | Not confirmedBinance does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
No separate card deposit fee shown; /en/fee/deposit and /en/fee/depositFee returned 404. No figure published. | Not confirmedBinance does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
No percentage published on the page; fee shown only in the live Buy Crypto flow. The two help-centre card-fee URLs found by search returned 'This article does not exist'. No figure published. | Not confirmedBinance does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
'Quoted price' wording only; one-minute quote window; no spread number. |
| Card · ETHPayment route partly confirmed | Not confirmedBinance does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBinance does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
The ETH buy page was not opened; BTC page used as the generic statement. No figure. No figure published. | Not confirmedBinance does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · BTCPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedBinance does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBinance does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 0.10%Source · 12 Oct 2026
Figure is the published spot taker rate. Applicability to a bank-funded USD purchase is unconfirmed because no fiat rail was verified. BNB discount excluded. Percentage only; absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedBinance does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
Order-book route; no spread figure published. |
| Bank transfer · ETHPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedBinance does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBinance does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 0.10%Source · 12 Oct 2026
Schedule is not asset-specific. Same caveats as BTC. Absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedBinance does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
Source: binance.com, checked
Bitstamp
Stated rates for Bitstamp
| Payment method · Asset | Deposit fee | Trading fee | Approximate spread |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card · BTCPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 18 Oct 2026
Post dated Jul. 24, 2023 with no percentage; not converted to zero. | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Card · ETHPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 18 Oct 2026
Post dated Jul. 24, 2023 with no percentage; not converted to zero. | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · BTCPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · ETHPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBitstamp does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
Source: bitstamp.net, checked
Bybit
Stated rates for Bybit
| Payment method · Asset | Deposit fee | Trading fee | Approximate spread |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card · BTCPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedBybit does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBybit does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBybit does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Card · ETHPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedBybit does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBybit does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBybit does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · BTCPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedBybit does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBybit does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBybit does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · ETHPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedBybit does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBybit does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedBybit does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
Source: bybit.com
Coinbase
Stated rates for Coinbase
| Payment method · Asset | Deposit fee | Trading fee | Approximate spread |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card · BTCPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Card · ETHPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · BTCPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · ETHPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. | Not confirmedCoinbase does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
Source: coinbase.com
Crypto.com
Stated rates for Crypto.com
| Payment method · Asset | Deposit fee | Trading fee | Approximate spread |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card · BTCPayment route partly confirmed | Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
Candidate figure 1.49%. Not marked verified: the page covers a top-up of the USD account, and no opened page confirms it is the fee on the instant-buy/Quick Buy route or that it stacks with the platform fee. No fixed fee stated. | Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
No percentage stated for the platform fee. The App purchase-fee article says only that an 'admin fee' is 'listed in the trade preview screen'. No figure. | Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
Spreads are not mentioned on the pages opened. |
| Card · ETHPayment route partly confirmed | Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
Candidate 1.49%; same route-linkage reason as BTC cell. No fixed fee stated. | Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
No percentage stated. No figure. | Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · BTC | 0.00% + $0.00Source · 12 Oct 2026
Minimum deposit $1; limits $1,000,000 or 5 times per day. A separate 'instant ACH deposit' article exists and was not read. A $40 admin fee may apply to returns of erroneous deposits. As above. | Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 0.50%Source · 12 Oct 2026
CRO-balance discount excluded. Page is the exchange-pro en-US version, re-read 13 Oct 2026. Percentage only; absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · ETH | 0.00% + $0.00 | Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 0.50%Source · 12 Oct 2026
Table is not asset-specific. Absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedCrypto.com does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
Source: crypto.com, checked
Gemini
Stated rates for Gemini
| Payment method · Asset | Deposit fee | Trading fee | Approximate spread |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card · BTCPayment route partly confirmed | Not confirmedGemini does not state a deposit fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 3.49%Source · 12 Oct 2026
Listed among USD fiat deposit fees. Whether it stacks with the Instant-order spread is not stated. Percentage only; absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedGemini does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
No fee percentage on the page; exact fee shown only on the trade review screen. No fixed fee stated. | Not confirmedGemini does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Card · ETHPayment route partly confirmed | Not confirmedGemini does not state a deposit fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 3.49%Source · 12 Oct 2026
Not asset-specific. Percentage only; absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedGemini does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 12 Oct 2026
Page names 'asset' as a factor, so BTC and ETH may differ; no figure published. No fixed fee stated. | Not confirmedGemini does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · BTC | 0.00% + $0.00Source · 12 Oct 2026
Wire Transfer also 'Free' with footnote: 'Your bank may charge you a fee to wire money into your Gemini account.' As above. | Not confirmedGemini does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 1.20%Source · 12 Oct 2026
Table cells as returned by the fetch tool. Whether the ActiveTrader schedule applies to the same order flow as Gemini's simple Instant mode is not stated. No minimum trading fee listed; absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedGemini does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · ETH | 0.00% + $0.00 | Not confirmedGemini does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 1.20%Source · 12 Oct 2026
Table is not asset-specific. Absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedGemini does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
Source: gemini.com, checked
Kraken
Stated rates for Kraken
| Payment method · Asset | Deposit fee | Trading fee | Approximate spread |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card · BTCPayment route partly confirmed | 3.75% + $0.25Source · 13 Oct 2026
Listed as the USD debit-card deposit fee. Whether the same fee applies to the direct 'buy with card' flow is not stated on the page. Minimum 10 USD. Card issuers may add their own charges. Same row as deposit_pct; same applicability caveat. | Not confirmedKraken does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 1.00%Source · 13 Oct 2026
Same rate on the en-us, en-gb and other English locale paths (all served in German). Page does not name a region or asset. Page states a percentage only; absence of a fixed fee is not treated as zero. | Not confirmedKraken does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Card · ETHPayment route partly confirmed | 3.75% + $0.25Source · 13 Oct 2026
Same applicability caveat as BTC cell. Same row as deposit_pct. | Not confirmedKraken does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 1.00%Source · 13 Oct 2026
Page gives no per-asset rate; same as BTC. Percentage only on page; absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedKraken does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · BTC | 0.00% + $0.00Source · 13 Oct 2026
A footnote says deposits are available for trading immediately but carry a seven-day withdrawal hold. Your bank may charge its own fees. Same row as deposit_pct. | Not confirmedKraken does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 0.80%Source · 13 Oct 2026
Quote reconstructed from table cells returned by the fetch tool. Kraken also offers instant buy over Plaid ACH at 1% (see card cell); this cell uses the Pro taker route. Percentage only; absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedKraken does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 13 Oct 2026
Order-book route; Kraken publishes no spread figure. |
| Bank transfer · ETH | 0.00% + $0.00 | Not confirmedKraken does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 0.80%Source · 13 Oct 2026
Page gives no per-asset rate; same as BTC. Percentage only; absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedKraken does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
Source: kraken.com, checked
OKX
Stated rates for OKX
| Payment method · Asset | Deposit fee | Trading fee | Approximate spread |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card · BTCPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedOKX does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 18 Oct 2026
The deposit fee page covers crypto only; no card deposit fee published. Same as deposit_pct. | Not confirmedOKX does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 18 Oct 2026
Qualitative only; no percentage published. Not converted to a number. No fixed fee stated; absence is not treated as zero. | Not confirmedOKX does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Card · ETHPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedOKX does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 18 Oct 2026
No card deposit fee published. Same as deposit_pct. | Not confirmedOKX does not state a trading fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 18 Oct 2026
Qualitative only; no percentage; the page gives no per-asset rate. No fixed fee stated; absence is not zero. | Not confirmedOKX does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · BTCPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedOKX does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 18 Oct 2026
Qualitative only; no percentage published. No fixed deposit fee published. | Not confirmedOKX does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 0.35%Source · 18 Oct 2026
Taker column of the Regular row; maker is 0.200%. OKX reserves the right to amend effective dates. Percentage only; absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedOKX does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
| Bank transfer · ETHPayment route not confirmed | Not confirmedOKX does not state a deposit fee for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Source · 18 Oct 2026
Qualitative only; no percentage published. No fixed deposit fee published. | Not confirmedOKX does not state a trading fee (fixed part) for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note.Stated: 0.35%Source · 18 Oct 2026
Fee groups 1-3 carry the same rate; the page does not map ETH to a group, so the identical rate is the only reading. Percentage only; absence not treated as zero. | Not confirmedOKX does not state a spread for this method on the page we read, or the figure it states could not be tied to this purchase route. See the source note. |
Source: okx.com, checked
Figures on this page were checked between 12 Oct 2026 and 20 Oct 2026. Fees change, so check the exchange's own page before you buy.
Why the trading fee is only part of the cost
A low fee on the button can sit next to other costs.
The spread is a cost that is not called a fee. When you buy, you pay the higher of the two prices, and you could only sell at the lower one. On a simple "buy" button, the quoted price may also include a markup, which counts as part of the spread.
The payment method matters too. The same purchase can carry a different deposit fee depending on whether you pay by card or by bank transfer, and the simple "buy" button is often priced differently from the order-book screen.
Small amounts are affected most, because a fixed fee or a minimum fee is a larger share of a small purchase. For a longer explanation, read Crypto exchange fees explained, or see rates side by side in Compare stated fees side by side.
Keep going
More on fees and on how we check them.